Reasons Stay at Home Moms are Crazy Awesome

Our children in a calm moment. Photo Credit: Blue Muse Photography

Our children in a calm moment. Photo Credit: Blue Muse Photography

The past three days I’ve been a stay at home dad while my wife goes to a couple of conferences. I’ve taken care of my children plenty of times, but never all day for more than 1 day. A few thoughts on why stay at home moms are crazy awesome from my less-than-half-a-week foray into stay at home life:

  • Someone is always hungry. If a stay at home mom cleans something up in the kitchen, someone else will immediately be dying of starvation. So they are always preparing food and cleaning the kitchen.
  • Kids can get toys out at roughly the same speed it takes for a rocket to leave the earth’s atmosphere. They somehow manage to get toys out while they are cleaning other ones up (and by “cleaning up” I mean “ignoring”). So stay at home moms are always cleaning up toys that are in the way of some other chore they need to do.
  • My son will somehow use between 3 and 1,000 cups to get drinks everyday. At the end of the day, there is no more counter space, just places to hold Carsen’s cups. No joke, I just put 9 cups into the dishwasher from yesterday. This means stay at home moms are always dealing with dishes.
  • We talk all the time about the mood swings of pregnant women, but I hear little about the mood swings of a 1 year old. 1 minute I am the greatest person on the planet because I can reach the Cheerio box and the next minute I am a villain for daring to suggest nap time. While she is mad at me, I am also the only one that can comfort her. So, stay at home moms are always causing meltdowns and then being a counselor.
  • My kids are creative. Creative comes from a Latin word which means “there will be thousands of tiny pieces of paper and crayon all over your floor at all times.” So stay at home moms are always sweeping or vacuuming the floor.

What I’ve listed is just a drop in the bucket. I’m certain the list of things a stay at home mom is always doing would rival “War and Peace” in length. I didn’t even get to books or ouchies or hugs and kisses. So, the next time you see a stay at home mom, give her a hug, tell her she’s doing great and for goodness sake give her some chocolate!

Just don’t be surprised if she doesn’t pause for long. She may hear water running in the hall bathroom, and that is never a good sign…

Leave a Reply

